Intravenous ideological global apparatus – IISAs

I am holding out for the new intravenous culture industry critique. Cannot get students to leave their screen devices alone even if they are banned in the classroom. May as well be permanently plugged in – and then I get an email from microsoft who say I can now spend even more pointless time deciding which apps are exempt from the pointedly anti screentime mechanism I had in place – “Set screen time limits will be applied individually across all platforms. There will no longer be a single schedule for all devices” – and this is not a choice, I now actively have to go and log each app’s limits. Its for ‘family safety’, and ‘flexiblity’ – indeed ‘enjoyment’ and ’empowerment’ – As they say: “You can now enjoy platform-specific app limits, empowering you to set different time restrictions on each”. These are the days in which the Ideological Global Apparatus goes complete-Skynet – however much I enjoyed watching Ngô Thanh Vân battle scripted stereotype casting and cliche in The Creator.

Leave a comment

Up ↑