Enoch Light – Command Records

Poetry and science from Dave.

Ear Conditioning

“Mira ese discos” said Jotti, the proprietor of Aguere Music Shop in La Laguna, as he dropped a few records in front of me.  I’d already put aside a record titled Big Drums in Stereo, so he knew my angle.   Oh shit, that was a good / bad move. I chose one, place the needle to the vinyl and within a second I shouted “So that’s where he got the sample from, that sly motherf…”  I was referring to Carl Craig.  In all these years it never dawned on me to find out where the sample came from that he used for his seminal ‘Bug in the Bassbin’.

Everything about the records recorded and produced by Enoch Light is premium.  The package, his dedication the getting the right sound during the recording process, everything. I bagged about four discs and promised to return as soon as the next cheque was…

View original post 160 more words

Leave a Reply

