neighbours are there for each other

march1308-006.jpgGotta say that so far moving to the new house has been a joy. And my neighbours made it all the more wonderful when last night, before I could even get a free evening (because of Tara’s party – happy birthday Tara), there was a street aesthetics rectification action. What I mean to say is that the horrible Lewisham Council funded “We are Living in Fear” posters that have appeared on every second lamppost on my street were summarily torn down overnight, and well before I got a chance to go out and do them myself. Well done. They lasted less than 48 hours – good neighbours.

I’m not really that bothered by the posters so much as the stupidity of whoever thought the idea of saturation plastering on every street might have been any sort of smart act. Dumb dumb dumb – though everyone agrees both the design and the message of the posters really are grotesque. There are two kinds march1308-008.jpgI’ve seen, both utterly obscene – and having the second one placed outside Lewisham College is particularly offensive. Who are the ‘they’ that ‘want our pods’ (the parody of hip language deployed just does not work). And why these particular silhouettes? Oooooh, its all so scary. Clearly many locals see this as just another moment in the creeping shuffle towards a pathetic unthinking half-baked police state. I am proud to see that Lewisham residents won’t stand for it. And I hope elsewhere ‘they’ will be ripping the rest down as well. Short easy work. Clean up Lewisham now.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Renegade Eye  On 14/03/2008 at 04:52

    I changed my link, to reflect the new address.

    That campaign can be described as creepy. In addition it does nothing to promote security and safety.

    Like

  • john hutnyk  On 14/03/2008 at 08:27

    yes, creepy – in neon yellow. Thanx for changing the link – I think you are the first to recognize my shift to a new home (for both blog and flesh). When I lived in the Elephant and in Kennington I knew the people in my building, but not next door (I knew the people in the local pubs of course). Here in Lewisham I’ve already met five of the households on my street (and already know the local pubs). Ahh community!

    Like

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,797 other followers

