do what with your head?


Some functional self aggrandizement tasks have necessarily occupied my morning as I’ve been filling out a job application. So I also thought I should use the opportunity to update the long out of date blurb on my college webpage. Here below is my latest institutionalised reduced dessicated alienated and foreshortened “self” – forgive the gauche brutal clunk clunk prose of it all. I wish I could do it in the tone of Lily Allen – la la la la (trashed by Posh and Becks so she must be ok). The stuff you have to write when filling in faculty search criteria makes me cringe, but I wonder if anyone ever would take seriously a job application that started with the words: “I only want to join your organisation to maim it” [Comrade Boucher's campaign pledge when running for election to the Academic body that used to oversee administrative evil at Melbourne University] or ‘We will fuck with your heads’ [the Director of Finance as spokesperson for a small workshop group assigned the task of translating Goldies' slogan/value 'radical thinking' into something with more edge - I do believe he had to be prompted to speak out, but certainly got mass approval]. Anyway, in this below, I edited out most of the dodgy stuff I used to say, and some of the stuff I used to do – no mention of the courts or The Party(ing) – now it seems positively tame. Ah well. Web control will approve I hope, search machines will cathect, blogger will not flag it as objectionable content…

J.Hutnyk:
Summary of Research.

Three single authored monographs (1996, 2000, 2004) each extensively reviewed and cited, and marking distinct research areas: urban studies, music, cultural theory.

One co-authored book (Diaspora and Hybridity 2005) and three edited book collections (1996, 1999, Jan 2006), each making innovative openings for new research.

With regard to my longstanding research on the politics of tourism and urbanism, both the monograph The Rumour of Calcutta: Tourism, Charity and the Poverty of Representation (Zed books 1996) and the edited collection Travel Worlds: Journeys in Contemporary Cultural Politics(Zed 1999) were widely reviewed.

Since the mid 1990s I have been researching on music and politics. Producing a monograph Critique of Exotica: Music Politics and the Culture Industry (Pluto 2000), the co-authored book Diaspora and Hybridity (Sage 2005), the edited collection Dis-Orienting Rhythms: the politics of the New Asian Dance Music (Zed 1996) and special issues on “Music and Politics” in the journals Postcolonial Studies (Vol 1,3 1998) and Theory, Culture and Society (17.3 2000).

In 2004, Pluto Press agreed to publish a collection of essays called Bad Marxism: Cultural Studies and Capitalism“. This latter volume consolidates my research at the intersections of anthropology, cultural studies and philosophy which continued this year with the special festshrifft volume Celebrating Transgression: Method and Politics in Anthropological Studies of Culture(co-edited 2006) on anthropological method.

As a researcher I have always worked in collaborative projects with other scholars. In particular this has occurred around the Transl-asia group, which takes as its themes South Asian diaspora, cultural politics and contemporary transnational movements. I can refer to some twelve volumes of varied work from this group, more than a dozen conferences and workshops (six of which I have organised myself). Through this group I have been instrumental in assisting younger researchers find employment in colleges and universities in the UK. Our research program continues with an edited volume to be called “A Postcolonial People?” (2006 Hurst).

Current research involves work on film, documentary and television, the fruit of teaching on the MA Visual Anthropology and the Anthropology and Representation course (see under teaching). A substantial new monograph is 60% complete, to be called Colour TV: Black and White Life (publisher interest confirmed). A newer research program involves collaboration with Julian Henriques in an interdisciplinary (music, theory, politics, ethnography) project around the notion of Sonic Diaspora.

I am developing a new research project on Trinketization with Klaus Peter Koepping, Michael Dutton and Joel McKim. This extends early work on cultural artefacts (souvenirs, music, film) and objects in theory – Marx’s metaphors and obsessions – with coats, linen, brandy, bibles, soup recipes etc., and objects in films – such as the snowdome in Citizen Kane, and in Benjamin and Adorno’s work – the snowdome as miniature tv etc etc. This is new speculative research – explored on my blog Trinketization as well. Who knows where it will end up?

Finally I retain a longstanding academic and political links with Australian scholars and activists, such as Peter Phipps, Angie Mitropoulis, Ben Ross and Linda Leung (visiting fellow at Goldsmiths in 2005) on issues of detention and incarceration in the UK and Australia. I gained initial grant money for this from the Association of Commonwealth Universities and Professor Paul James and Peter Phipps have substantial funding from the ARC (I was a Visiting Fellow at their Globalism Institute in 2003).

Summary of Teaching.

As a supervisor I took on my first PhD students in 1999 at Goldsmiths and six of them have completed. I supervise a further 20 PhD students at present. Of which I have two completing in the next 3 to 6 months. My PhD students have been successful in attracting funding from the ESRC (6 grants) AHRC (3 grants) and the ORS (4 grants), as well as six with overseas scholarships. One student is enrolled at Goldsmiths as a combined PhD candidate in a special agreement negotiated with the University of Frankfurt in Germany (I believe the first of its kind in the UK).

For PhD students, in 2003-6 I redeveloped the Centre for Cultural Studies PhD seminar format and included a series of three subgroups where research students read, evaluate and discuss their own writing, research papers and developing projects.

In terms of curriculum design, among other courses such as Methods of Cultural Analysis, General Principles of Anthropology, for eight years I ran the largest option course in the Anthropology department: Anthropology and Representation (MA, UG Theory and practice; some 80+ ethnographic films produced, and over 130 photographic essays). I currently teach a course on Marx’s Capital and reading groups on Capital and the works of V.I.Lenin.

Summary of Administration.

In Anthropology until this year I was the convenor of the MA in Anthropology and Cultural Politics (MAACP) and had revamped this program, which had not been recruiting. I have performed various roles in Anthropology: deputy departmental tutor, personal tutor, program monitor and admissions officer, and continue to act as admissions officer for MAACP as well as research committee, postgraduate committee and I was chair of Anthropology admissions work unit.

Since 2003 I have been with the Centre for Cultural Studies and in an evolving role I have been instrumental in reviving good management of CCS. I am currently Academic Director and convenor of the PhD program. I sit on several college committees and boards [ie Graduate School Advisory], as well as the promotions committee of the college.

If for some mad reason you want more, ask to see my CV. – JH 2006/10

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On 09/10/2006 at 08:00

    And don’t forget to say that you have been nominated as a member of the highly influential ‘Graduate School Advisory Panel’. That’s power…

    Like

  • Maria Technosux  On 09/10/2006 at 17:31


    My PhD students have been successful in attracting funding from the ESRC (6 grants) AHRC (3 grants) and the ORS (4 grants), as well as six with overseas scholarships.

    That’s great. The only thing my supervisors could ever say about me is that I’m unemployed and will forever be unemployed because stable employment is one of the prerequisites for being eligible for a grant. And I will never write a monograph because I have too bad a case of RSI to fill up a book, let alone find a publisher.

    *cries*

    No, this stuff really makes me cry. I wish I wasn’t envious, but I am angrily, murderously envious. It’s a good thing(?) I hate flying and fear death :-/

    Tex.

    Like

  • John Hutnyk  On 09/10/2006 at 19:20

    Tex, don’t cry! I wish there were more funds to pass around. My colleague Chris was just today lamenting the fact that he did not have a hufge swag of loot. I ask for more like some Oliver Twist type – and I get snubbed left right and centre – these are just the few that get through. Its a tough tough game.

    RSI is the pits as well. Voice recognition technology may be the way forward….

    Keep your glass half full…
    j

    Like

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,797 other followers

